University of Wisconsin-Madison

Michael Schwartz



Contact Information: 

Assistant Scientist

Department Affiliation:

Biomedical Engineering

Education Background:

PhD, Chemistry, University of Wisconsin-Madison
B.S. Business Management, University of Wisconsin-Parkside

Research Description:

Development of 3D tissue models for investigating disease and neural toxicity.


  1. S. Pellett, M.P. Schwartz, W.H. Tepp, R. Josephson, J.M. Scherf, C.L. Pier, J.A. Thomson, W.L. Murphy, Eric A. Johnson. Human induced pluripotent stem cell derived neuronal cells cultured on chemically-defined hydrogels for sensitive in vitro detection of botulinum neurotoxin. Scientific Reports, Accepted.

  2. M.P. Schwartz, Z. Hou, N.E. Propson, J. Zhang, V.S. Costa, P. Jiang, B.K. Nguyen, J. Bolin, C. Engstrom, W. Daly, Y. Wang, R. Stewart, C.D. Page, W.L. Murphy, J.A. Thomson. Human pluripotent stem cell-derived neural constructs for predictive neurotoxicity. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, Accepted.

  3. D.G. Belair, J.A. Whisler, J. Valdez, J. Velazquez, J.A. Molenda, V. Vickerman, R. Lewis, C. Daigh, T.D. Hansen, D.A. Mann, J.A. Thomson, L.G. Griffith, R.D. Kamm, M.P. Schwartz, W.L. Murphy. Human vascular tissue models formed from human induced pluripotent stem cell derived endothelial cells. Stem Cell Reviews and Reports. Accepted. 

  4. W.F. Hynes, N.J. Doty, T.I. Zarembinski, M.P. Schwartz, M.W. Toepke, W.L. Murphy, S.K. Atzet, R. Clark, J.A. Melendez, N.C. Cady. Micropatterning of 3D microenvironments for living biosensor applications. Biosensors, Accepted. 

  5. T. Hansen, J.T. Koepsel,  N.N. Le, E.H. Nguyen, S. Zorn, M. Parlato, S.G. Loveland, M.P. Schwartz, W.L. Murphy. Biomaterial arrays with defined adhesion ligand densities and matrix stiffness identify distinct phenotypes for tumorigenic and non-tumorigenic human mesenchymal cell types. Biomaterials Science, 2014;5:745-56. internet_link.jpg

  6. E.H. Nguyen, M. Zanotelli, M.P. Schwartz, W.L. Murphy. Differential effects of cell adhesion, modulus and VEGFR-2 inhibition on capillary network formation in synthetic hydrogel arrays. Biomaterials, 2014; 35: 2149-2161. internet_link.jpg

  7. M.P. Schwartz*, S.P. Singh, J.Y. Lee, S.G. Loveland, J.T. Koepsel, R.E. Rogers, S.I. Montanez-Sauri, K.E. Sung, E.K. Sackmann, E.Y. Tokuda, L.M. Everhart, E.H. Nguyen, Y. Sharma, M.H. Zaman, D.J. Beebe, N.G. Ahn, W.L. Murphy*, K.S. Anseth*. A comparison between primary and transformed cells reveals a unique migration mode with mixed mesenchymal and amoeboid character. PLoS One, 2013; 8: e81689.internet_link.jpg 

  8. Z. Hou, J. Zhang, M.P. Schwartz, R. Stewart, C.D. Page, W.L. Murphy, J.A. Thomson. A new platform for developmental neural toxicity screening. Stem Cell Research and Therapy, 2013;4.

  9. J.T. Koepsel, S.G. Loveland, M.P. Schwartz, S. Zorn, D.G. Belair, N.N. Le, W.L. Murphy. A chemically-defined screening platform reveals behavioral similarities of primary human mesenchymal stem cells and endothelial cells. Integrative Biology, 2012; 4: 1508–1521. internet_link.jpg

  10. E. Nguyen, M.P. Schwartz, W.L. Murphy. Biomimetic approaches to control soluble protein concentration gradients in biomaterials. Macromolecular Bioscience, 2011; 11: 483-492. internet_link.jpg

Awards & Honors: 

Patents and Grants:


  • N.N. Le, S. Zorn, M.P. Schwartz, E.H. Nguyen, W.L. Murphy. Novel method for forming hydrogel arrays using surfaces with differential wettability. U.S. Patent Application Filed, 2014. 
  • Principle Investigator, NIH (R21 EB016381-01), “Probing biochemical and biophysical influences on endothelial-mesenchymal transition”, University of Wisconsin-Madison ($300K).
  • Co-Investigator, NIH (UH2TR000506-01), “Human ES/iPS Cell-Based Models for Predictive Developmental Neural Toxicity”, Morgridge Institute and University of Wisconsin-Madison ($190K subaward).
  • Principle Investigator, NSF conference grant, Materials Research Society Spring 2012 Meeting, PP Symposium “Manipulating Cellular Microenvironments”, Student and new faculty travel grants.
  • Principle Investigator, Proof of Concept grant, “Poly(ethylene glycol) based hydrogels for cutaneous wound healing”, University of Colorado Tech Transfer ($20K).
  • Co-wrote Equipment grant, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Time-lapse microcsope ($190K).
  • M.J. Sailor, S.N. Bhatia, M.P. Schwartz, S.D. Alvarez, A.M. Derfus, B. Migliori, L. Chao, R.A. Campbell, J. Dorvee, Y.Y. Li, and U.C. Rang. “Method for monitoring mammalian and bacterial cells by light scattering from porous photonic crystals.” U.S. Patent #20080212068.


  • La Jolla Interfaces in Science Fellowship (Burroughs Wellcome Fund), University of California-San Diego (February 2003–January 2005)
  • Hoechst-Celanese Award for Best Materials Chemistry Graduate Student, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Department of Chemistry (2003)
  • S.C. Johnson's Wax Distinguished Fellowship Program (1999–2002, Full Support)
  • Graduate Research Fellowship (Finalist, Varian Fellowship), American Vacuum Society (October 2001)
  • Full Scholarship, Enrico Fermi International School of Physics, Varenna, Italy (July 2000)